Stuff a Pepper

I actually got to cook tonight.  It is always hectic getting off work at 5:30, getting home 15-20 minutes later, changing clothes, and rushing into the kitchen to cook dinner.  Tonight’s masterpiece:  Stuffed peppers and salad.  I did get a step up with dinner, my brother (who doesn’t eat anything good like peppers), cooked my ground beef with onions and my brown rice.

Here’s the recipe I used and adapted it some to fit my purposes.

3/4 pound of beef (my brother used the other 1/4 pound for his dinner)
diced onion (I come from the school of thought the more the better)

Brown the ground beef with the onion until brown.

Cook the brown rice according to the directions.  You want to have 2 cups.  This is a good time to use the leftover rice in the fridge.

Mix the ground beef mixture and the rice.  I then added 2 cups of Tomato-Basil Spaghetti sauce, Italian Seasoning, Salt & Pepper.  Mix it all up.  Next time I will definitely add some red pepper flakes.

Then take your bell peppers (I used 3 red bell peppers, that way my sister and I would each have one for dinner and she would have an extra one for lunch tomorrow).  I had planned on leaving them whole but decided to cut them in half instead.  I microwaved them for about 4 minutes to soften them a little.   I then put 1 cup of mixture in each pair of peppers (say that 3x fast).  So a serving was a whole pepper and 1 cup of mixture.

My final step is what I think is the most important.  THE CHEESE.  I love cheese.  I topped my sisters with some Colby Jack shredded mix.  And I topped mine with 1 oz. of Cabot Hot Habanero.  They then went into a preheated oven until the cheese started bubbling and got a little brown.

I always have to have load of vegetables to fill me up so I made me a salad with Organic Girl Spring Mix from Whole Foods (it is really the best I ever tasted), cherry tomatoes, LOTS of onion, and Raspberry Dressing.  My sister had the same salad but with Romaine lettuce instead of spring mix (at least its not iceberg).

stuffed peppers

This was an AWESOME dinner and it is definitely going on the short list to have again.  I did have some leftover filling, and I plan on picking up a few more peppers tomorrow so we can enjoy at least another lunch out of this.  The extra servings really messed up my points calculations.  So I counted this as 8 points for the peppers (since the cheese was 3 points), and 1 point for the salad.

About weightwatchingfoodie

Hi, my name is Jamie. I am almost 37, single and really love to cook for my room-mates. Who happen to be my brother and sister. The brother is VERY picky, but the sister is like me and will try almost anything. I am on the quest to lose this weight once and for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

