It’s Sunday.

 

I just love running around on the weekends and finding new things.

Some new flavors!!!

Some new flavors!!!

I found the Pickapeppa Sauce at World Market (I love this place), here’s the website http://www.pickapeppa.com/.  I saw the chili paste on another site, and went hunting, lol, found it at Harris Teeter, bought it, and then of course it was $1.50 cheaper at World Market.

I also spent the weekend making some yummies for the coming week.  Cucumber Water, so refreshing and so good.  I cannot get enough of it.

 Just cucumbers sliced up and added to a jug of water.

Just cucumbers sliced up and added to a jug of water.

I also made so Cucumber Salad. 

Wonderful Cucumber Salad

Wonderful Cucumber Salad

I love this too, and make it every summer.  The recipe is old, so I really do not know where I got it from to credit.   But here is goes:

Cucumber Salad

  • 3 cucumbers
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 cup white wine vinegar (I like balsamic white wine)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used Splenda this time)
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • black pepper
  • 1/2 small red onion, sliced into rings

Score the cucumbers with a fork and cut into slices.  Place them in a deep jar with the garlic (I also add the onion at this time even thought the recipe says to use as garnish), and chill over night.

The next day combine the vinegar, water, salt, and sugar in a sauce pan (I would use metal–reason follows) and bring to a boil.  When it reaches boiling remover from heat immediately and chill it over an ice bath (this is the reason for the metal pan-glass would bust–right).

Once the dressing is chilled, pour it over the cucumbers and season with pepper (you can also add 2 tbsp of chopped parsley–but I was too lazy).  Chill covered overnight.

The longer they stay in the fridge the better they are. I usually go in the kitchen and shake the jar a few times during both chillings—just to mix it up some.

Work tomorrow—off Tuesday and then work everyday till Sunday.

About weightwatchingfoodie

Hi, my name is Jamie. I am almost 37, single and really love to cook for my room-mates. Who happen to be my brother and sister. The brother is VERY picky, but the sister is like me and will try almost anything. I am on the quest to lose this weight once and for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

